The final heats of the Western Australian Sabre State Championships were hosted at the Perth Dinghy Sailing Club on March 11. The series was held over multiple days and clubs including Safety Bay Yacht Club, Royal Perth Yacht Club (Fremantle Annex) and East Fremantle Yacht Club.

The series finished up with two heats at Perth Dinghy Sailing Club, which provided a wide variety of wind and water conditions to cater for all sailors.

Sabre Champion Scott Olsen (FSC) won all heats and took out the championship, with second and third places being determined in the last heats.

Scott’s brother-in-law David Meehan (SBYC) came second overall while Pete Coop (EFYC) followed him by one point in third and Ed Bannerman (EFYC) was fourth narrowly missing out on third place due to a count back.

Meehan also won the first wooden boat trophy (clearly showing wooden boats are just as good) and Robert Howes from Walpole Yacht Club won the President’s Award.

The championships were kindly sponsored by Boating Hardware who have supported this event and Sabre Sailing in Western Australia for many years.

The four clubs involved provided fantastic support and race management, so thanks goes out to the clubs and all the volunteers involved. Congratulations also to all the winners and a big thank you to all the sailors that competed in the event.

A change of pace is scheduled for next year’s state championships, with the regatta to be held over a single weekend in November in readiness for the Sabre National Championships, which will run from December 29January 4 at Perth Dinghy Sailing Club.

More than 60 entries are expected to attend and it will be the second time the Perth Dinghy Sailing Club will host the regatta with the 2013/2014 nationals achieving 65 entries.