Perth Dinghy Sailing Club and Mounts Bay Sailing Club hosted the Sabre State Championships on the weekend 0f November 25 and 26 with a total of 26 boats entering the six-heat series.

Saturday racing at PDSC was held in strong gusty winds, while milder conditions prevailed on Sunday at MBSC.

Final results were: Scott Olsen of Fremantle Sailing Club in first, Tony Carr of Perth Dinghy Sailing Club in 2nd and Clayton Erwin of Perth Dinghy Sailing Club in third.

With a growing number of lady sailors in the fleet the association awarded for the first time a Champion Lady Sailor trophy, which was awarded to Julie Olsen (wife of Scott).

Julie finished ninth overall and had a well-deserved second place in one of the heats.

Daniel Carlton from East Fremantle Yacht Club won the President’s Award.

The next major event for Sabre sailors is the National Championships to be held at PDSC with course set on Matilda Bay from 29 December 2017 to 4 January 2018 – more than 50 entries have been received.